Compared, with receipts

The Read Ahead app is no longer on the App Store. Here is what to use instead.

Read Ahead is not listed on the App Store, US or UK, checked 3 September 2026. Here is what its listing said before it went, seven things to use instead, and how to keep reading ahead with no app at all.

We make MidiSlayer, which is one of the apps compared here. Every fact about another product is dated and linked to where we read it.

Last reviewed 4 September 2026 · 10 min read

Why this page exists

What people are actually looking for

Read Ahead was an iPad sight-reading trainer built by two piano teachers who taught sight-reading at the Johns Hopkins University Peabody Conservatory. Its idea took one sentence to explain and years to get bored of: in their words, students "are compelled to read ahead of where they are playing because the music disappears in advance". You could not stare at what your hands were doing, because it was not on the screen any more, so your eyes had to be a bar ahead or nowhere. The vendor called it "disappearing music". Its archived level descriptions set out four levels, 1 to 4, and the last version, 6.0, is dated 11 October 2021 on the third-party mirror of its App Store listing.

The App Store description text, as mirrored by the third-party directory soft112.com and read there on 4 September 2026, opens with this sentence attributed to the developer: "Please Note that we have made all in-app purchases free because we are going out of business and will be shuttering the app in the near future." We could not find a primary or archived copy of the Apple listing to confirm it, and we have not reached Anacrusis LLC. If that quotation is wrong or has been altered, tell us and it comes down the same day.

That is Anacrusis LLC speaking about their business, and it is the only statement about the closure we will print. We do not know why. We did not ask, and we are not going to speculate about a small company that made something genuinely good and then stopped. What we checked, and what we could not check, is listed at the bottom of this page.

So, depending on which of these you are:

  • You still have it on an iPad. We could not establish whether an existing copy still opens, so we are not going to tell you either way. Something no longer listed cannot be reinstalled or updated, which is a fact about the App Store rather than about the software. If yours still opens, use it, and have a look at the table while you can compare calmly.
  • You want the disappearing trick specifically. Piano Tree has a read-ahead mode that hides the bar you are playing, and Sight Reading Factory has disappearing measures as an option. Both are in the table with their prices. MidiSlayer does not do it. The drills below are the version that needs no software at all.
  • You want a graded course that marks you. MasterPiano and Piano Marvel, in the table.
  • You want endless material you have never seen. Sight Reading Factory composes it on demand. SightReader generates it and marks your timing note by note.
  • You want the paper. The printed Read Ahead books are a separate product from the app, and were still listed by booksellers when we looked on 3 September 2026.
  • You just want to get better at reading ahead. Keep going, that is the rest of this section.

How to read ahead without an app

Reading ahead is a habit rather than a talent, and the app was a way of forcing the habit. It can be forced by hand.

Play one bar behind your eyes. Take something two grades easier than you play. Read bar one, then, while your hands play bar one, read bar two. The aim is not accuracy. The aim is that your eyes are never on the note your fingers are currently pressing.

The card trick. Slide an index card along the stave so it covers the bar you are playing, moving it just before you arrive. That is the same idea in cardboard, and teachers were doing it long before anyone shipped an app for it.

Never stop to fix anything. Most people cannot read ahead because they keep reversing. Set a metronome slow enough that stopping is never necessary, and play a whole line without correcting a single note. A wrong note in tempo costs less than a right note that arrives after a pause, which is also how ABRSM marks it.

Count out loud. It occupies the part of your brain that wants to go back and tidy up the last bar.

New music every day, badly. Reading only improves on music you have not seen. A pile of easy unseen pieces beats one hard piece read five times, because the fifth time is not reading, it is recall. There is a whole post on the dose: what to drill.

The table

Side by side, as we read the sources

Comparison of Read Ahead, Piano Tree, MasterPiano, SightReader, Sight Reading Factory, Piano Marvel, Note Rush, MidiSlayer
AppListens to a MIDI keyboardWhat you readHow you payFree to startRuns onMost recent release we foundSight-reading specifically
Read AheadiPad sight-reading trainer, from two teachers at the Johns Hopkins Peabody Conservatory, that erased the music as you played it.not statedReal staff notation, a reading trainer1Was a free iPad app with paid in-app levels; the listing said the in-app purchases were made free2Yes, free to download; the levels were in-app purchases2iPad. This App Store page now returns 404, checked 3 Sep 20263Version 6.0, 11 Oct 20212The whole app: students "are compelled to read ahead of where they are playing because the music disappears in advance"4
Piano TreeSight-reading and reading-fluency trainer with a read-ahead mode that hides the bar you are playing.Yes, MIDI keyboard or the device microphone5Real staff notation5Subscription, $9.99 a month or $99.99 a year, shown as 33% off $14.99 and $149.99 (3 Sep 2026)5Yes, a limited free tier5iOS, Android, and a web app for Mac and Windows5iOS 1.13.0, 29 Aug 2026 (first release 9 Dec 2025)6"Activate read-ahead mode and the bar you're playing disappears, forcing your eyes forward"5
MasterPianoGraded practice app built around MIDI feedback and, in their words, an ABRSM-structured technique curriculum.Yes, any USB or Bluetooth MIDI keyboard. No other input documented7Sheet music: "View sheet music and listen before you commit"8Subscription, $99.99 a year as an intro against $149.99; $19.99 a month on its App Store listing (4 Sep 2026)8Yes. 10 minutes a day, Grade 1 technique, no card8Web browser and iOS; an Android app on Google Play8iOS 1.2, 10 Aug 2026 (first release 14 Apr 2026)7"Sight-Reading Practice", plus a timed "Performance Mode"9
SightReaderSight-reading trainer from a solo developer that marks every note over MIDI for pitch and, with the metronome on, for timing.Yes, and the primary input. USB or Bluetooth MIDI, or an on-screen piano10Real staff notation, marked green, red, blue or yellow10Subscription, £5 a month on the web; £5.99 a month or £57.99 a year in the apps (4 Sep 2026)11Yes, "£0 / forever". 54 pieces, drills, 10 exercises generated a day, 3 to play11Chrome, Edge or Opera on desktop; iPhone, iPad, Android10iOS 1.0.9, 22 Aug 2026 (first release 3 Jul 2026)12"Pitch & Rhythm" against a metronome, or "Pitch Only"10
Sight Reading FactoryComposes fresh sight-reading exercises on demand, for piano and most other instruments.No. Assessment records through the microphone13Real staff notation, plus a piano-roll feedback view13Subscription, $45 a year (3 Sep 2026)14not statedWeb browser, iOS app15iOS 2.11, 3 Jun 202616"Auto Assessment": accuracy, timing and intonation, plus optional "disappearing measures"13
Piano MarvelGraded sheet music with a numerically scored sight-reading test, used by studios and universities.Yes, wired USB or Bluetooth MIDI on its App Store listing. Microphone assessment instead, iOS only, 90% at three notes17Real staff notation, including licensed sheet music18Subscription, $17.99 a month or $129.99 a year (3 Sep 2026)19Yes, a permanent free plan with 150+ songs19iOS, Android, Windows, Mac, Chromebook19iOS 2.8.4, 1 Sep 202618SASR, scored 100 to 1900 across 90 levels20
Note RushTimed note-reading game from TG Software that hears the note you play on a real instrument and scores speed and accuracy.Yes, wired only. The microphone is the primary input21Real staff notation. Treble, bass and grand staff21One payment, $8.99 (3 Sep 2026)22No, paid up front on both stores22iOS, Android, Amazon Appstore21Android 8 May 2026; iOS 2.01.2, 25 Oct 2023 on the App Store23Called note reading, not sight-reading. Landmark hints24
MidiSlayeroursDesktop sight-reading and theory trainer for a MIDI keyboard. Ours, and in Early Access.Yes, the primary input. USB MIDI, with an on-screen keyboard built in25Real staff notation26One payment, $49.99, yours to keep (3 Sep 2026)26Yes, a free version. No card, no clock25macOS, Windows, Linux. No web, no mobile25Early Access, first public build 31 Aug 202627Graded Reading, on the ABRSM parameters, single notes28
  1. 1.https://web.archive.org/web/20250211134003/https://readaheadapp.com/
  2. 2.https://read-ahead-practice-piano-sight-reading-ios.soft112.com/
  3. 3.https://apps.apple.com/us/app/read-ahead/id806292431
  4. 4.https://web.archive.org/web/20230604175653/https://readaheadapp.com/home-2/ipad-app-1/
  5. 5.https://www.piano-tree.com/
  6. 6.https://itunes.apple.com/lookup?id=6752673455&country=us
  7. 7.https://itunes.apple.com/lookup?bundleId=com.masterpiano.app&country=us
  8. 8.https://www.masterpiano.com/pricing
  9. 9.https://apps.apple.com/us/app/id6758087301
  10. 10.https://sightreader.app/how-it-works
  11. 11.https://sightreader.app/upgrade
  12. 12.https://itunes.apple.com/lookup?bundleId=app.sightreader&country=us
  13. 13.https://www.sightreadingfactory.com/focus/autoAssessment
  14. 14.https://www.sightreadingfactory.com/pricing
  15. 15.https://www.sightreadingfactory.com/
  16. 16.https://itunes.apple.com/lookup?id=1046058520&country=us
  17. 17.https://pianomarvel.com/en/feature/microphone-assessment
  18. 18.https://itunes.apple.com/lookup?id=1016751878&country=us
  19. 19.https://pianomarvel.com/en/pricing
  20. 20.https://pianomarvel.com/en/feature/sasr
  21. 21.https://www.noterushapp.com/
  22. 22.https://apps.apple.com/us/app/note-rush-music-reading-game/id1083801827
  23. 23.https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.TGSoftware.NoteRush
  24. 24.https://itunes.apple.com/lookup?id=1083801827&country=us
  25. 25.https://midislayer.com/download
  26. 26.https://midislayer.com/
  27. 27.https://midislayer.com/blog/buy-once-actively-developed
  28. 28.https://midislayer.com/sight-reading/abrsm

Every cell as shown on the linked page when we read it; the newest read date is 4 September 2026. Promotional prices are marked with the date they were seen. "not stated" means the vendor does not publish that fact, not that the answer is no. We make MidiSlayer; its row is written by us from our own pages. Tell us if anything has changed and we will fix it.

Our read

Who each one is for

Read Ahead

Row one, because it is the thing you searched for. iPad only, last version 6.0 on 11 October 2021, not listed on the App Store in the US or the UK when we checked on 3 September 2026, and its old website no longer serves it. Of the rows below, Piano Tree and Sight Reading Factory both have a version of its one idea.

MasterPiano

Subscription, $99.99 a year as an intro price against $149.99, and $19.99 a month on its App Store listing. MIDI in, notation first, a large graded library and an ABRSM-structured technique curriculum in their own description. Free tier gives ten minutes a day, which is enough to test your keyboard and browse. Web and mobile, so an iPad is covered.

SightReader

£5 a month on the web, and £5.99 a month or £57.99 a year inside the iPhone and Android apps. The free tier has no clock on it: 54 pieces, unlimited drills and ten exercises generated a day, three of them playable. It marks each note early or late against a metronome, in milliseconds. On a computer it needs Chrome, Edge or Opera, and there are iPhone, iPad and Android apps.

Sight Reading Factory

$45 a year, browser first, with an iOS app. It composes exercises on demand, tuned down to rhythms, range, leaps and accidentals, so nothing can be memorised. Measures can be set to disappear as you play, which is the same idea Read Ahead was built on, and the endless supply is the closest thing here to what Read Ahead gave you. Assessment is microphone-only and after the fact: you record, then read the breakdown.

Piano Marvel

$129.99 a year, on iOS, Android, Windows, Mac and Chromebook, and the one here with a published scale behind the number: SASR, 100 to 1900 across 90 levels. SightReader also gives you figures, per note in milliseconds, and Sight Reading Factory scores a recording after the fact. Piano Marvel is the one where the number means the same thing next month. Real sheet music, real MIDI marking. If you liked Read Ahead's levels because they told you where you stood, this is the closest replacement.

Note Rush

One payment, $8.99, and the cheapest paid app in the table by a distance. It hears an acoustic piano through the microphone, transposes itself to your instrument, and drills single notes against the clock. Teacher-shaped: custom levels travel by link or QR code. Flashcards, not continuous reading.

MidiSlayer

One payment, $49.99, desktop only, built around a MIDI keyboard with an on-screen keyboard included, free version with no clock. Graded Reading works through the ABRSM parameters grade by grade, and Practice puts real pieces in front of you.

The honest bit

Where MidiSlayer fits, and where it does not

MidiSlayer fits one shape of person: a MIDI keyboard, a desk, and reading as the thing that is holding you back. Graded Reading deals single notes in a grade's keys and range with the key signature on the staff, and Practice does the phrase-level work with real pieces, holding the beat until both hands arrive. Where it does not fit: there is no disappearing-measures mode, and we are not going to promise one on a page about the app that did that best. It is desktop only, so it is no use on an iPad, and it is in Early Access. One payment, $49.99, yours to keep. Download it free.

Download MidiSlayer free

Free to start. One payment for everything, yours to keep.

Questions

Asked and answered

It is not listed on the App Store. Apple's lookup API returns no result for its store ID in either the US or the UK, and its App Store page returns a 404, both checked on 3 September 2026. Its website no longer serves it either. Before removal, the listing said in the developer's words that the company was going out of business and would be shuttering it.

We could not establish that, so we are not going to tell you either way. Something no longer listed cannot be reinstalled or updated, which is a fact about the App Store rather than about your copy. If yours still opens, use it. How long that lasts is not something we can tell you, and we are not going to guess.

We do not know, and we would rather say so than send you off confidently. App Store purchases sit in your Apple account rather than with the developer, so your purchase history and Apple Support are the only places worth asking.

Of the products we checked on 3 September 2026, two. Piano Tree has a read-ahead mode; its page says "Activate read-ahead mode and the bar you're playing disappears, forcing your eyes forward", it listens to a MIDI keyboard or a microphone, and it is a subscription (as shown on 3 September 2026, in the table). Sight Reading Factory lists disappearing measures as an option, on its pricing page and in its Auto Assessment instructions, on top of exercises composed fresh each time. The rest do adjacent things instead: they generate material you have never seen, they grade you, they mark your timing note by note. MidiSlayer does not hide bars either, and we are not going to imply otherwise to catch this search.

The printed books are a separate product from the app and were still listed by booksellers on 3 September 2026, Levels 1 to 3, starting at ISBN 9780996812603. We did not confirm stock at any particular shop, and we earn nothing whichever one you use.

MasterPiano takes MIDI and nothing else. SightReader and MidiSlayer take MIDI or an on-screen keyboard. Piano Tree takes MIDI or the device microphone. Piano Marvel takes MIDI and falls back to the microphone on iOS. Note Rush is microphone first with wired MIDI as an option. Sight Reading Factory takes no MIDI at all: it records through the microphone and marks the recording afterwards.

The five drills above, on music that is too easy for you, ten minutes a day. The two rules underneath all of them: never stop to fix anything, and never read the same piece twice. If you want a ladder to practise against, the ABRSM sight-reading guides set out what each grade actually asks of you.

How we checked this

How we checked this

Four checks on Read Ahead, made on 3 September 2026, all repeatable. One: Apple's lookup API returns no result for its App Store ID in the US or the UK, and the store page returns a 404. Two: readaheadapp.com no longer serves the site and redirects somewhere unrelated, which is why the table links an Internet Archive snapshot and not the live domain. Three: the closure wording is the App Store listing text, mirrored by a third-party directory, quoted with attribution, undated because no primary source dates it. Four: every other row was read from the vendor's own page, their store listing or the stores' own APIs on the same day and carries a numbered link; where a cell names a store for part of its value, that is where that part came from. Prices are quoted in the currency the vendor publishes, which is US dollars for every row except SightReader, priced in pounds. We have not converted anything, so a pound figure and a dollar figure in the same column are not a like-for-like comparison. We carry no star ratings and no affiliate links: we make one of the products here, so a rating from us would be worth nothing. What we could not establish: when the notice went up, whether existing installs still run, and what became of the company. We have not guessed. If something here is wrong, tell us and we will correct it.

Product names belong to their owners and are used only to identify the products compared. MidiSlayer is made by Monoglyph Ltd, the publisher of this page; the facts about other products come from their own pages and store listings, dated and linked; the facts about MidiSlayer come from ours. No affiliate links, no ratings. If we have a fact wrong, the contact page reaches a person and we will correct it.

MidiSlayer is independent of ABRSM and not endorsed by it. ABRSM is a trade mark of The Associated Board of the Royal Schools of Music, used here to identify the exams these pages describe.